Transgender and Religion

I came across a great article that shares the experiences of seven transgender individuals as they discuss their experiences and feelings about religion.

Transgender Voices On Religion

From my own experience, I have been lucky within the last two years to have found a Baptist church that encourages my participation in services. I am a member of their Praise Team, playing drums and percussion in a music ensemble that performs during services. I am also active in weekly Bible studies and other church activities, especially the church’s main ministry of serving meals Sunday through Thursday each week.

While I have encountered one or two persons who held very conservative views regarding the LGBT community that I found troubling, I have had a mostly positive reception. Technically the church does not explicitly state that it is an open and affirming church. However, their attitude and conduct towards me has leans heavily in that direction. I suppose it has a lot to do with the fact that Willimantic is such a diverse and generally liberal minded community with many marginalized people and minorities who seek acceptance and respect. Ours is a community in desperate need and it would seem so un-Christian of any church in this town to turn their backs on these people in need. It would seem so counter-productive to preach hate or to discriminate in a town as diverse as ours. It would make no sense. This town has 25 churches or places of worship and so much diversity. This town sees the benefits of both the church influence and the diverse influence of so many different cultures and languages.

As a transgender Christian in a supportive church in a very liberal town and state, I consider myself very lucky but I know that there are many others who are not so lucky and it is for them that I created this blog or special space for them and any other LGBT person of faith. I want to inspire others and share good news and hope to all LGBT people and let them know there are places–even if they are online–where you are free to be your true self and encouraged to express your faith and your beliefs freely and honestly with others.

I encourage others to comment and read these posts and share them with others.

Peace!

About Rachel Conlin McLeod

Transgender activist, Christian at First Baptist Church in Willimantic, Connecticut. B.A. in History and Social Sciences, B.A. in Sociology Freelance writer, tutor, research assistant Loves hockey, ballet, women's gymnastics, and Bible studies.
This entry was posted in Articles, Freedom, Hope, Inspiration, Open and Affirming Churches, Pride, Testimony, Transgender, Transgender Awareness, Transgender Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

