Jeremiah 29:11-14

Jeremiah 29:11-14

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you; plans for your welfare and not for woe, so as to give you a future of hope. When you call me, and come to pray to me, I will listen to you. When you look for me, you will find me. Yes, when you seek with all your heart, I will let you find me, and I will change your lot; I will gather you together from all the nations and all the places to which I have banished you; and bring you back to the place from which I have exiled you.”

Reflection:

I can’t think of any stronger message to deliver when folks are in that valley of doubt and fear and uncertainty. This is God Himself trying to express to us all that He has plans and His plans are for our well-being and not for woe or sorrow or misery. Ours is a loving, compassionate God. And when we pray and seek Him, God listens. When we seek God with all our hearts, He will allow us to find him and assures us that we will indeed find Him. And God will change our situations for the better. Ultimately, God can restore us from our misery and hardships. Even if we are divided by discrimination, segregation, or differences of theology, politics, religion, race, culture, or any other means… God can restore us as a unified humanity– so that we may be one fellowship of loving, caring, compassionate neighbors.

Even if we feel scattered in the darkness, God brings power to our prayers when we seek Him. Have faith! Be assured that God Himself hears our prayers… He listens to our hearts and knows the yearnings in our hearts.

About Rachel Conlin McLeod

Transgender activist, Christian at First Baptist Church in Willimantic, Connecticut. B.A. in History and Social Sciences, B.A. in Sociology Freelance writer, tutor, research assistant Loves hockey, ballet, women's gymnastics, and Bible studies.
This entry was posted in Hope, Inspiration, Jeremiah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

