1 Samuel 17 “David and Goliath”

So one of the most classic stories of the Bible is the story of David and Goliath. It is the classic story of the underdog kid with attitude and sling taking down the well armored boastful giant.

In looking at this story from a more symbolic perspective, I see that each and every one of us has to face a personal Goliath in life– maybe even more than one Goliath. Maybe our “Goliath” is poverty or homelessness… maybe our “Goliath” is discrimination or bigotry and hatred. We each face a problem that at face value seems overwhelmingly huge and beyond our means to tackle. Whatever our monumental obstacle in life is, we often feel like it is a monumental giant problem we cannot overcome.

But there are two sides to the David and Goliath story! David obviously defeated his Goliath with two major keys to victory. #1 was confidence and a winning attitude. He had confidence that God was on his side and would have his back. He had confidence that God would not let him face his Goliath alone. The #2 key to David’s victory was that he had the necessary tools to get the job done– whether it was his quick wit and skill with a slingshot or his strong throwing arm and keen aim, David had used his tools wisely.

In my own life, my Goliath would be discrimination, bigotry, ignorance and hatred. If I had a dime for every time someone called me the F-word or called me “she-male” or misgendered me out of spite, I wouldn’t be homeless for sure… and I’d be feasting on steak and lobster every night. Yet I am confident that God has my back and that He knows my heart and knows my inner struggles to be an honest and sincere person. And when I am faced with a bigot or hater, I arm myself with that confidence and the wisdom to defuse the tension and conflict by either leaving the scene or applying humor or diplomacy.  There is no sense in fanning the flames or adding fuel to the fire. If I can avoid the conflict, I simply walk away. If however, I can do something to inform, teach, or help someone understand, I come armed with patience and information and honesty.

I also recognize that for many people, dealing with their Goliath requires a support system. When your Goliath is bullying and harassment or discrimination or persecution or even abandonment, the best tool in dealing and coping with these giant problems is to have a support system of friends, a trusted therapist, maybe a priest or pastor who is open and affirming, an LGBT support group, access to social media outlets for information and social services, etc. Building a support system or support network is the most valuable tool you can have! That way, you will never be alone and you will have the help and resources you need to deal with the crisis that may come up or the challenges of day-to-day living.

David was not alone when he faced Goliath. He had God on his side. You have God on your side  and you have the opportunity to reach out to others as well for help. Do not be ashamed or afraid of seeking help. You are gathering the tools and resources and allies you need to face your Goliath.

About Rachel Conlin McLeod

Transgender activist, Christian at First Baptist Church in Willimantic, Connecticut. B.A. in History and Social Sciences, B.A. in Sociology Freelance writer, tutor, research assistant Loves hockey, ballet, women's gymnastics, and Bible studies.
This entry was posted in 1&2 Samuel, Faith, Inspiration, Self-Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

