Ezekiel 34:11-16 God, the True Shepherd

Ezekiel 34:11-16(NRSV)

“For thus says the Lord God: I myself will search for my sheep, and will seek them out. As shepherds seek out their flocks when they are among the scattered sheep, so I will seek out my sheep. I will rescue them from all the places to which they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness. I will bring them out from the peoples and gather them from the countries, and will bring them into their own land; and I will feed them on the mountains of Israel, by the watercourses, and in all the inhabited parts of the land. I will feed them with good pasture, and the mountain heights of Israel shall be their pasture; there they shall lie down in good grazing land, and they shall feed on rich pasture on the mountains of Israel. I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep, and I will make them lie down, says the Lord God. I will seek the lost, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak, but the fat and the strong I will destroy. I will feed them with justice.” 

Reflection:

Our Lord God takes a personal interest in our well-being and care. If He did not, why then would He have sent us His only begotten son, Jesus, who healed the sick, fed those in need, and ministered to the less fortunate? God doesn’t intend for us to suffer and live under oppressive tyrants. God did not intend for there to be victims of social and economic injustice and disparity. God did not intend for us to live in poverty or in fear that we may not afford our basic needs like food, shelter, health care, and clothing.

God sent something of Himself in Jesus to guide us and lead us to safety and sanctuary. God provided Jesus to be our good shepherd. God Himself is also our good shepherd– whether we realize it or not. God finds ways of providing for us. We need to be trusting in God and faithful to Him. We need to be observant and obedient. We need to prepare ourselves to receive His blessings too. When God is trying to steer us away from trouble and when God is giving us an opportunity to better our situations, we need to be alert and receptive.

God sees to our fundamental needs and is watchful and observant when we seem lacking. God is also aware of current events and also observant of our environments and where we find ourselves. He knows the challenges we all face and knows what obstacles lie before us. He knows Satan is poised to take us away from where we need to be. God will lead us if we are willing to follow. And when God is present, injustice can only shy away.

About Rachel Conlin McLeod

Transgender activist, Christian at First Baptist Church in Willimantic, Connecticut. B.A. in History and Social Sciences, B.A. in Sociology Freelance writer, tutor, research assistant Loves hockey, ballet, women's gymnastics, and Bible studies.
This entry was posted in Ezekiel, Hope, Inspiration, Spirituality, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

