Psalm 3 – Trust in God Under Adversity

Psalm 3 – NRSV

“O Lord, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me; many are saying to me, ‘There is no help for you in God.” But you, O Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, and the one who lifts up my head. I cry aloud to the Lord, and he answers me from His holy hill. I lie down and sleep; I wake again, for the Lord sustains me. I am not afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around. Rise up, O Lord! Deliver me, O my God! For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked. Deliverance belongs to the Lord; may your blessing be on your people!”

Reflection:

Even when it seems like an entire society would like to set God against you for being LGBT, the truth is, God has already made His decision about you. God has made you in His image and Jesus has decided that He has found you worthy to be heirs to the Kingdom of Heaven. Jesus has taken upon Himself all condemnation and punishment and paid the price for the redemption of ALL MANKIND– which includes you and me and everyone else who is willing to step forward and confess Jesus as their savior and advocate. God can decide for Himself who He loves and who He has turned His back on– but in the case of the LGBT community as a whole, Jesus is clear about what is asked of all humanity! He asks that we love God with all our hearts and minds and souls and to love each other as we would love ourselves. Jesus expects us to love the stranger, the neighbor, and even our enemies as well as our God.

God loves us at least as much as we are willing to love Him as our Creator. God did not create us just for the sake of having something to hate and torment or torture and destroy. God is not petty. God is profound! God seeks to instill in our hearts compassion, love, kindness, and empathy– why else would He send a part of Himself down on this Earth for us? God sent us a model to follow in Jesus and made love the overriding Law in which to love by.

So when it feels like the whole world is set against us for who we are and how we live and love, never forget that it is love that trumps all things and if we live with love in our hearts for God and for each other, God will see fit to protect us and have our backs!

 

About Rachel Conlin McLeod

Transgender activist, Christian at First Baptist Church in Willimantic, Connecticut. B.A. in History and Social Sciences, B.A. in Sociology Freelance writer, tutor, research assistant Loves hockey, ballet, women's gymnastics, and Bible studies.
This entry was posted in Love, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

